Senior Cricket - Awards Ceremony

Old Parks Cricket Club

Well done to our senior cricketers who celebrated a fantastic season this past Friday at their AGM and awards evening. The Presidents XI, captained by Bruce MacFarlane, won their league and were awarded team of the season! In addition, the following individual awards were made:

Player of the season - Jono Waspe

Club player of the year - Ashton Swartbooi

Premier XI:

Batsman of the year - Allan Dudgeon
Bowler of the year - Tiaan Barnard

Presidents XI:
Batsman of the year - Matt Kauzil
Bowler of the year - Ashton Swartbooi

Sunday 1 XI:
Batsman of the year - Noel Naude
Bowler of the year - Ash Bryce-Borthwick

Saturday 4 XI:
Batsman of the year - Noel Naude
Bowler of the year - De Wet van Biljon

All credit to the players, supporters and everyone else involved. 

All thanks to our cricketers for their commitment to our Club, and to Doug Neilson and his committee and captains in particular for all their efforts behind the scenes: you’ve made us #proudlyparktonian.

Members of the Presidents XI

Photo Cred: Bryan Jacklin

Cricket Registration Day

Registration Day for both junior & senior cricketers will be on September 8th 2018 from 9am to 12pm.

About the Cricket section

The cricket section has been in existence since the Old Parktonian Association was formed in the 1930”s.

Some well-known Old Parks cricketers who came out of the school were Dave Ironside, Don Stewart, Don Pistorius , Paul Kimber ,Stan Berger , Sam Rubin , Dave Webster , Tony Upton ,Jack Skewis , Harry Shapiro, John Horak, Bruce Muller,  David Van der Knaap , Ronald Desilla, Doug Neilson,  Noel Day , John Varty and many more.

The Club has been an affiliate member of the Gauteng Cricket Board from inception of the Transvaal Cricket Union.

The club’s First team has been represented in the Premier League also since inception of the Transvaal Cricket Union.

The Premier League was last won in 1975.

The current Chairman and First team coach is Doug Neilson the former Transvaal ‘Mean Machine” all-rounder who represented Transvaal , as it was then known, for over 12 years .

Unfortunately due to the country’s isolation from all forms of International sport many cricketers/players could not represent their country.